polkacoffee

RedPolka.com's window to share notes on fashion, Lifestyle, Designs and also Shopper Marketing

Revealed: Saree Secrets with Binodini’s Debarati

binodini


To complement our edition this week, Eat. Pray. Shop. here are some awesome tips on draping your saree like a dream! Debarati is a Patna based advertising professional, working in Delhi for over a decade and the proud owner of Binodini. Here’s a lovely teté-a-teté with Debarati Paul about her journey from being an Ad-woman to a Six yard creator.
11038393_1547810138804917_4855994769788660445_n
1) Tell us something about Binodini. What is your brand story? 

Binodini was never planned. Whenever I bought any ensemble I either deducted or added something to it. Hence, I thought it was best I customize things for myself. A friend who lived in the States for two years was coming back to Delhi for her brother’s wedding and she requested me to design her series of clothes; which included three-four sarees and the lehenga. This assignment turned out to be great! People loved my work and they really appreciated it. This gave birth to Binodini.

I have no background in Fashion studies of whatsoever; my collections are all based on instinct and a little bit of knowledge of colours. I also did not follow the rules of one material, one style or one colour collection. I designed only 30 sarees for my first collection—one piece each—all based on what I thought would look good and different from each other.

10660254_1483165015269430_8042791740160860948_n2) When did you know that you wanted to launch Binodini?
After a lot of appreciation I thought, ‘I should give it a shot’ so, I started working part time on it since 2012, and then in 2013, I decided to pay complete attention to it. The name was suggested by a Bengoli friend. It means the person who brings prosperity in your life in Bengoli language, it is also the name for Radha and since she is the ultimate representation of beauty and love, I decided to go with it instead of a contemporary name as suggested by many.

3) Tell us something about your saree collection. What is the next collection you’re working on.
For me moods make a lot of difference to a person’s ensemble chosen by them. So if I am happy I will wear my most prized-possessed ensemble and if I am not in the mood I might just want to wear colours which are dull. However, if I am not in the mood and I still wear something I really love then it can change my mood. That also reflects in my collections and product descriptions. I choose the colours which will add a zing into my life and for others as well.

The next collection I am working on is on specific colours and how they look different on different materials. Say for example if I choose pink, I’ll choose various shades of pink on different materials.

1497707_1483159665269965_4737449392596491603_n

4) What colours and accessories can women choose when picking sarees to achieve a stylish yet an Indian look?

In my view pink, blue and yellow are the colours that complement the Indian skin tone always! The only trick to crack it is what shade of a pink or blue will look good on you.

Besides the normal earrings, maang tikka and the necklaces, traditional jewellery like kamar patta and kamar challa look extremely beautiful.

5) What materials, blouses and drapes look best on a quintessential Indian woman?

According to me, if you’re a little leaner you should opt for cotton, handloom and silk and not georgette or chiffon. If one is on the plumper side, decoding the myth “you mustn’t wear georgette or chiffon because it hugs your body”, you must do exactly the opposite! These are lighter materials which enhance your strengths and cover the flaws. Choose a contrast blouse, a blouse can make or break the look of your saree ensemble. Also, never wear the saree above your navel it makes you look extremely bulky and odd.


With these tricks, we’re sure you’ll definitely become a pro so have fun with sarees, ladies!

About polkacoffee

Polka Coffee is your e-coffee-table-book; here you will have recourse to quick reads that interest you, and inspire you, and inform you of all things, fashion and life. The features will motivate you to be fashionable, and always be you! It’s a blog linked to www.redpolka.com. Red Polka is a podium to discover and crave curated fashion and lifestyle designs. It’s a unique platform, a window that opens up to handpicked available options, for shoppers, designers, inspiration seekers, trendsetters, and women, who know what they wear, and what they want! www.redpolka.com. is a great place to start shopping conversations! Founder, Ms. Vishakha Singh is a visionary and an evangelist. Red Polka is her wishing-well, filled with ideas to shop in style. She not only helps brands showcase their enticing products, but also help the brands market their products to the buyers. She has time and again helped build major brands, and cropped novel ideas for shopper marketing. She strongly believes that, “what shows, sells!”, and hence she toes the line between the seller and the buyer effectively with her ventures, www.redpolka.com, and Polka Coffee Sessions. Come, be the chosen one!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2015 by in Red Polka Editions.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38,928 other followers

Discover curated designs in fashion & lifestyle on :

