polkacoffee

RedPolka.com's window to share notes on fashion, Lifestyle, Designs and also Shopper Marketing

Wear All the Colours of Festivities with Priyanka Shenoy of Tevar

We, Indian women are so beautiful and have such sharp features, complicated drapes are not for the already rich ( sharp features).”

Meet Priyanka Shenoy, the head designer at Tevar.  She is a ball of fire; her design sensibilities are warm and superlative.  Tevar started out in January 2014, and she came into the picture in May 2014. The label is her baby since then…

tevar-priyanka

Today Priyanka tells us everything about her designs, colours and silhouettes that look great on Indian women.

 1) When did you know that you wanted to launch Tevar? What were your thoughts and feelings while doing so?

I knew I could achieve anything I am destiny’s child! I have the most amazing mentor Abhishek Dengre who patiently listens to all my jargon and instantly gets my vibe. He knows when to put his foot down, he knows how much to push me and he is rightly the business head and knows when to walk out of the dream like design bubble and talk business. We knew more or less that we were ready when we had our first set of samples ready by the end of 2014 and like I said, I was destined to meet the right people at the right time. Tevar got its first break out of Starbucks in palladium when a friend mentioned in passing about an exhibition in Dubai. I knew right then; with this event my baby (Tevar) was going international. After which we unanimously decided to exhibit only at events and garment exhibitions catering to the right audience.

2) Tell us something about your ethnic collection. What is the next collection you’re working on?

Aantheeaa the goddess of flowers by Tevar… We have created a garden of gold inspired from traditional Etruscan jewelry dated 4th century BC for our A/W 15. Petals of the past that stand out and talk, they are refined, edgy, yet feminine and that’s what we have tried to maintain while putting together this line. Gold is synonymous with festivities, it makes everything prettier and sharper. We have used loads of drapes and one of our iconic pieces is the concept saree and it’s totally old world Greek and new age Indi.  Our line has a unique expression through style. Our silhouettes are timeless and more than 80% of our garments are hand crafted at our design headquarters in Bombay (Mumbai).

1

 3) What colors can women choose when picking ethnic ensembles to achieve a stylish yet an Indian look?

I am good with mix and match. I get bored with looks that are put together. Maybe that’s because I don’t ever want to do what is expected of me. I like colors; Plushpalette is my alter ego and right now I am obsessing over peach and teal together or separate. I think everyone must own something gold, it’s like a white shirt in your ethnic wardrobe. A basic gold blouse goes with almost any of your grandma’s sarees and a dressy gold blouse will go with any non-embellished saree. I suggest gold as statement pieces like a dupatta or blouse for the conformist. We’ve also done gold lehengas for the crazy ones! So, in simple words- GO GOLD!

Must Have’s: A gold blouse, a pinkish pop solid lehenga, heavily embellished dupatta and a white kurta.

tevar-orange-lehenga-1

4) What silhouettes in ethnic dresses look best on Indian women?

At Tevar we work with our clients instead of slapping my aesthetics on them I often spend time asking them what they like and how they dress. Stalking clients pictures is my most important and primary research before I design. My first intern taught me how important stalking in fashion is.

I think Indian women need to wear sharper and simpler clothes. We, Indian women are so beautiful and have such sharp features, complicated drapes are not for the already rich. I believe clothes accessories you to help you present yourself better not to change who you are. All my clients say they love my pieces but ultimately I make sure they feel “omg this is totally me!!!” when they step out in custom Tevar!


Tevar is a design house started by Abhishek Dengre (business head) and Vandana Gupta(investor). They have invested their heart to pursue a common passion for fashion clothing. Tevar crafts clothes that make you want to come back for more. The label aspires to retail off the peg internationally by 2017.

About polkacoffee

Polka Coffee is your e-coffee-table-book; here you will have recourse to quick reads that interest you, and inspire you, and inform you of all things, fashion and life. The features will motivate you to be fashionable, and always be you! It’s a blog linked to www.redpolka.com. Red Polka is a podium to discover and crave curated fashion and lifestyle designs. It’s a unique platform, a window that opens up to handpicked available options, for shoppers, designers, inspiration seekers, trendsetters, and women, who know what they wear, and what they want! www.redpolka.com. is a great place to start shopping conversations! Founder, Ms. Vishakha Singh is a visionary and an evangelist. Red Polka is her wishing-well, filled with ideas to shop in style. She not only helps brands showcase their enticing products, but also help the brands market their products to the buyers. She has time and again helped build major brands, and cropped novel ideas for shopper marketing. She strongly believes that, “what shows, sells!”, and hence she toes the line between the seller and the buyer effectively with her ventures, www.redpolka.com, and Polka Coffee Sessions. Come, be the chosen one!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2015 by in Polka Love and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38,928 other followers

Discover curated designs in fashion & lifestyle on :

