polkacoffee

RedPolka.com's window to share notes on fashion, Lifestyle, Designs and also Shopper Marketing

A Happy Home With Élan | Vidushi Gupta Agarwal

vidushiIt’s a good idea to enter a house that manages to delight you and bring joy to your everyday life. Living with Élan is one brand that will help you achieve this. Today, we tell you the story of Vidushi Gupta Agarwal. She is passionate about designs that are tactile, messy, and raw.

Born and brought up in Delhi, Vidushi loves Indian aesthetics but always wanted to play with everything chic, rustic, nature-inspired and happy. She earned a BFA degree in Communication Design from the Parsons School of Design, New York, and on returning to India she created the magical, metallic world of élan- they’re marvellous too.

Vidushi defines Élan as “a brand of self-expression that creates small, happy and feminine products that make people happy.”

So let’s know more, here’s a tete-a-tete with Vidushi

>> What inspired you to start Élan?

I was always inclined towards art and design; this led me to pursue design as my career. Even when I was living in New York, I worked there as an Installation Manager—I worked on event installations, décors, store windows, store designs. At the same time, I also took up freelance projects as a wedding planner. This gave me a lot of exposure to a lot of designs, flower arrangement, décor and more.
11133669_835087129900105_1453600021342571503_n

After spending five years in New York, I came back to India and wanted to start designing and manufacturing décor accents. My father has a factory of metal goods in Delhi, but I wasn’t quite keen on working with metals, hence, I decided to work with ceramic and wood instead. For a year, I continued with it, but it didn’t work for me. Simultaneously, I worked on a very small range of metal products in my father’s factory. I showcased this range on an e-commerce platform and it did phenomenally well. It was like magic and seemed like metals run in my blood. This gave birth to Élan.

>> What inspires you to create all your products in happy colours?
I love colours; I feel all things colourful are yummy! But the Indian market is restricted to metallic colours and most things bling when it comes to décor. Élan has a character; every products design has a story. My work is instinctive, and the colours I use are all that appeal me. My products are always a representation of myself, I express happiness through them. I love nature and that is what drives me to create nature-inspired products.

Why happy colours? I would say because most of our buyers are women. With more and more nuclear families emerging, all family members crave for ‘happy’ things; that is the motive of Élan, and hence we work with happy colours. It was only recently that we started to work with luxury shades like ivory and charcoal grey, so do look out for our new collection.


>> Would you like to share with us, which is your favourite corner in your house and why?

My favourite corner in my house has to be the window! I have a pretty little window which is accentuated with a nice lounge. Here, I love to sip coffee, read a book or work on my laptop. This is one place where I get to rejuvenate myself.
window_nook2


Now that we have spoken about Élan, here are some ways to accentuate your window area with Élan:

i) Hang a pretty bird cage in a secluded corner..bird cage

ii) Along the clothes line hang a birdhouse or hang beautiful birds to invite pretty little birds..
bird houses
iii) Add some fragrance into your house with pretty caddies or kettles with flowers…
flower

iv) Knickknacks are the prettiest things you can have to accentuate your window—magnets, votives, hook.. 
knick knacks



Bring happy colours and happiness into your beautiful home! 

About polkacoffee

Polka Coffee is your e-coffee-table-book; here you will have recourse to quick reads that interest you, and inspire you, and inform you of all things, fashion and life. The features will motivate you to be fashionable, and always be you! It’s a blog linked to www.redpolka.com. Red Polka is a podium to discover and crave curated fashion and lifestyle designs. It’s a unique platform, a window that opens up to handpicked available options, for shoppers, designers, inspiration seekers, trendsetters, and women, who know what they wear, and what they want! www.redpolka.com. is a great place to start shopping conversations! Founder, Ms. Vishakha Singh is a visionary and an evangelist. Red Polka is her wishing-well, filled with ideas to shop in style. She not only helps brands showcase their enticing products, but also help the brands market their products to the buyers. She has time and again helped build major brands, and cropped novel ideas for shopper marketing. She strongly believes that, “what shows, sells!”, and hence she toes the line between the seller and the buyer effectively with her ventures, www.redpolka.com, and Polka Coffee Sessions. Come, be the chosen one!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2015 by in Lifestyle, Polka Love.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38,928 other followers

Discover curated designs in fashion & lifestyle on :

